LS Nakajima Ki-43-III Hayabusa “Oscar” of the 31st Sentai in 1/72 Scale

The 31st Sentai operated in the China / Burma area during 1944.  It had previously operated the Ki-30 “Ann” in the light bomber role but had converted to the Oscar when the Ann became obsolete.

This is one of the oldest surviving builds in my case, built during high school when my fascination with Japanese aircraft was at a peak and Thorp was the best reference in town. I removed the cowling panels to expose a radial engine from an Italeri Ju 188, one of my first attempts at kit bashing. The mottling was applied with a Badger single-action airbrush, the landing gear doors and wing racks were replaced with scrap plastic. Some of these old kits get rebuilt and repainted, some I keep around as reminders of what modeling was like “back in the day”.